Silent Conversations: Reimagining Sacred Chants | Heritage HTGCD193

Silent Conversations: Reimagining Sacred Chants


Usually available for despatch within 1-2 weeks

Label: Heritage

Cat No: HTGCD193

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 12th May 2017



Christopher Hawkins (piano)
David Milsom (violin)
Liz Hanks (cello)
Mark Taylor (guitar)


Christopher Hawkins (piano)
David Milsom (violin)
Liz Hanks (cello)
Mark Taylor (guitar)


‘Silent Conversations’, conceived by Christopher Hawkins, is an album which presents a fresh approach to the sound world of ancient chanting, a genre renowned for its timeless and contemplative beauty. Christopher poses the question: ‘What remains, when the words of the chants are hidden?’

Drawing on professional forces from his native Sheffield, Christopher recorded a selection of well-known and lesser-known chants over a period of two years. The result is a unique set of 25 arrangements for instrumental forces – some are simple, unembellished solo arrangements for piano, violin, cello and classical guitar and others are more complex re-workings for chamber ensemble.

‘Silent Conversations’ presents the listener with an opportunity to experience a centuries-old tradition from a completely different perspective.

1. More Than This
2. Into The Hills
3. Shimmering Water
4. In The Shadow
5. The Night Watch
6. Final Farewell
7. In Paradisum
8. Lost In Wasteland
9. The Stranger
10. With Dragging Feet
11. Veiled In Mist
12. At The Summit
13. Antiphon
14. Land Of Silence
15. The Embrace
16. Silent Conversations
17. Glistening Town
18. All That I Am
19. O Rubor Sanguinis
20. Stay
21. Looking Out
22. Cry Of The Soul

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here