Max Richter’s Out of the Dark Room (LP) | Milan Records 9903998822

Max Richter’s Out of the Dark Room (LP)

Label: Milan Records

Cat No: 9903998822

Format: LP

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Soundtrack

Release Date: 26th May 2017


A Max Richter anthology, featuring his most beautiful compositions for films. Within the past few years, Max Richter has emerged as one of the leading figures in contemporary music. The work of this German-British composer (born in 1966) is marked by eclecticism: concert music, film scores, ballet, opera, and his many solo albums have enjoyed great success.

Max Richter is at the crossroad of many contemporary artistic languages through a wide variety of collaborations (Tilda Swinton, Robert Wyatt, Future Sound of London, Roni Size). As one might expect from a student of Luciano Berio, his work explores a very wide range of currents and influences.

In this universe, film music occupies a privileged position and the variety of filmmakers Richter has worked with reflects the ductility of his inspiration. Regarding the role of music in a film, he once wrote: “I think music is a kind of amniotic fluid and that the film lives in it. Sometimes music can be at the forefront, playing a supportive role without even realizing it, but if you take it away you would miss out on the basics.”

This album features the most beautiful excerpts of the soundtracks to Waltz with Bashir, Sarah’s Key, Wadjda, Disconnect, The Congress, and Testament of Youth.

Finnish artist Heidi Gabrielsson has designed the artwork.


Waltz with Bashir
A1. The Haunted Ocean
A2. Any Minute Now / Thinking Back
A3. I Swam Out to Sea / Return
A4. What Have They Done?
A5. The Haunted Ocean 5

A6. Wadjda’s Journey
B1. The Release

The Congress
B2. Beginning and Ending
B3. On the Road to Abrahama
B4. In the Cosmic Lobby
B5. Out of the Dark

Sarah’s Key
C1. The Vel d’Hiv
C2. The Escape
C3. When She Came Back
C4. The Tree, the Beach, the Sea
C5. Julia’s Journey
C6. Julia Walking
C7. Sarah’s Notebook

D1. The Swimmer
D2. Unwritten
D3. Break In

Testament of Youth
D4. Love and Imagination
D5. The Rising of the Sun
D6. These I Send to You
D7. I Will Not Forget You

This product has now been deleted. Information is for reference only.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here