Peerson - A Treatie of Humane Love: Mottects or Grave Chamber Musique (1630) | Regent Records REGCD497

Peerson - A Treatie of Humane Love: Mottects or Grave Chamber Musique (1630)


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: Regent Records

Cat No: REGCD497

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 20th January 2017



Following on from Fretwork’s acclaimed release on Regent of Sublime Discourses (REGCD341), which featured the complete instrumental music of John Milton and Martin Peerson, I Fagiolini and Fretwork come together with organist James Johnstone for the premičre recording of Peerson’s A Treatie of Humane Love.

Newly edited by Richard Rastall, this collection of song settings of poetry by Sir Fulke Greville, focusses predominantly on the subject of love, making it an ideal counterpoint to St Valentine’s Day.

Martin Peerson (c1572–1651) has been known since the mid-20th century as an engaging and very performable composer with a highly individual voice; but in his own time he was much respected and published, perhaps the most able of those composers who were not in royal service.

This release is a major contribution to the discography of 17th-century English music in incomparable performances from some of the world’s finest artists in the field.

What the critics said about Sublime Discourses (REGCD341):

‘...this is one of the most exquisite recordings to come my way in a long time.’ - American Record Guide March/April 2012

‘This apt album title never seems far away during these exquisitely conversational performances of 20 consort pieces in five or six parts. Fretwork play with gentle mastery of affect ... this harmonious match of Rastall's scholarly research and Fretwork's fine musicianship is priceless.’
- Gramophone February 2012

‘... playing that ranges from buoyant and capricious to episodes of high seriousness. Throughout, we hear the flawless technique and luminous sound that have helped to establish Fretwork's reputation as one of today's leading viol consorts’
- BBC Music Magazine March 2012

Track listing:
1. Love, the delight
2. Beautie her cover is
3. Time faine would stay
4. More than most faire
5. Thou window of the skie
6. You little starres
7. And thou, O Love
8. O Love, thou mortall speare
9. If I by nature
10. Cupid, my prettie boy
11. Love is the peace
12. Selfe pitties teares
13. Was ever man so matcht with boy?
14. O false and treacherous probabilitie
15. Man, dreame no more
16. The flood that did/When thou hast swept
17. Who trusts for trust
18. Who thinks that sorrows felt
19. Man, dreame no more
20. Farewell, sweet boye
21. Under a throne
22. Where shall a sorrow
23. Dead, noble Brooke
24. Where shall a sorrow (a6)
25. Dead, noble Brooke (a6)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here