Richard Burton: The Voice in Poetry | Alto ALN1503

Richard Burton: The Voice in Poetry


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 weeks

Label: Alto

Cat No: ALN1503

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Release Date: 2nd September 2016



Richard Burton (reader)


Richard Burton (reader)


One of the most expressive and romantic acting voices, in selections of his own.

Recorded 1955-61

Track listing:

CD 1:
1. Dylan Thomas - Under Milk Wood: To Begin at the Beginning

Dylan Thomas poetry:
2. A Winter’s Tale
3. In my Craft and Sullen Art
4. The Force that through the Green Fuse Drives the Flower
5. The Hand that Signed the Paper
6. The Ballad of the Long-Legged Bait
7. Fernhill
8. Hunchback in the Park
9. Before I Knocked
10. I See the Boys of Summer
11. Lament

12. Desiderata (1692, found in a Baltimore church)
13. Edward Thomas - Adelstrop
14. Ernest Dowson -Non sum qualis eram bonae sub regno Cynarae
15. John Betjeman - Hunter Trials

Thomas Hardy poetry:
16. At Casterbridge Fair (6 parts)
17. The Voice
18. Weathers
19. She Charged Me

John Donne poetry:
20. A Hymn to God the Father
21. The Good Morrow
22. Song: Go and Catch a Falling Star
23. Song: Sweetest Love I do not go

24. Coleridge - Frost at Midnight
25. Shakespeare - Lines from Richard II
26. Shakespeare - Lines from The Tempest

Dylan Thomas poetry:
27. Elegy (ed.Watkins)
28. Lie Still, Sleep Becalmed
29. Do not go Gentle into that Good Night
30. And Death Shall Have No Dominion

CD 2:
1. Coleridge - The Rime of the Ancient Mariner
- with John Neville (narrator) & Robert Hardy (Wedding Guest)

Thomas Hardy poetry:
2. In Tenebris
3. Shut Out that Moon
4. Reminiscences of a Dancing Man
5. Let me Enjoy
6. Beyond the Last Lamp
7. I Found her out There
8. In the Servants’ Quarters
9. In the Study
10. Timing Her
11. Old Furniture
12. At Castle Boterel

John Donne poetry:
13. Legacie
14. The Anniversary
15. A Nocturnall (Upon St. Lucy’s)
16. A Valediction: Forbidding Mourning
17. The Extasie
18. The Funerall
19. The Relique
20. At the Round Earth’s Imagined Corner
21. Death be not Proud

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here