Western Wind: Mass by John Taverner & Court Music for Henry VIII | Avie AV2352

Western Wind: Mass by John Taverner & Court Music for Henry VIII

£12.15 £9.12

save £3.03 (25%)

special offer ending 26/10/2021

In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Avie

Cat No: AV2352

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 25th March 2016



Andrew Parrott and his Taverner Choir & Players turn to music of their namesake alongside works by his contemporaneous King Henry VIII, an exceptionally musical monarch, and two composers of the previous generation, William Cornysh and Hugh Ashton.

With Taverner's Western Wind Mass as its corner-stone, this recording takes its lead from the unashamedly secular character of that work and ventures beyond the chapel door to explore the parallel world of courtly vernacular song and instrumental music.

Track list:
1. Anon. - The western wynde
2. Chant - Kyrie (Rex sempiterne)
3. Taverner - Gloria [Mass 'The Western Wynde' (a4)]
4. Anon. - My lady Careys dompe
5. Taverner - Credo [Mass 'The Western Wynde' (a4)]
6. Henry VIII - If love now reynyd (II) (a3)
7. Chant - Preface (Sursum corda / Vere dignum)
8. Taverner - Sanctus [Mass 'The Western Wynde' (a4)]
9. Anon. - My lady Wynkfylds rownde
10. Taverner - Agnus [Mass 'The Western Wynde' (a4)]
11. Anon. - O blessed lord, how may this be (a2)
12. Cornysh - Yow and I and Amyas (a3)
13. Aston - A Hornepype
14. Anon. - Wher be ye my love? (a3)
15. Cornysh - Fa la sol (a3)
16. Henry VIII - Taunder naken (a3)
17. Taverner - Audivi vocem de caelo (a4)
18. Taverner - In nomine
19. Taverner - Dum transisset sabbatum (I) (a4)
20. Anon. - Westron Wynde
21. Anon. - Western Winds (a2)


The Taverner Choir & Players bring us a benchmark performance of the Western Wind Mass by the choir's namesake, John Taverner. There have already been recordings by The Sixteen, The Tallis Scholars, Ars Nova Copenhagen and King’s College Choir, Cambridge - but the striking originality of the Taverner Choir’s interpretation and programming puts this disc in a league of its own.  Berta Joncus
BBC Music Magazine May 2016
Andrew Parrott’s past recordings of Taverner count among his finest achievements, and it is little short of scandalous that they have never been reissued (glad to have got that off my chest!). While we wait, this new offering suggests that the hiatus of 25 years has not dulled his affinity for the music of his ensemble’s namesake. ... perhaps the disc’s most satisfying interpretations are the two responds for high and low voices respectively, Audivi vocem and Dum transisset sabbatum (I), which seem to me on a par with the Taverner Consort at their very best: the latter in particular combines that trademark incisiveness with superlative solo singing. Finally, the sound recording successively juggles a wide range of distributions, from harpsichord to choir, with no apparent discontinuity.  Fabrice Fitch
Gramophone May 2016
Gramophone Editor's Choice Gramophone Award Winner

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here