Florence Foster Jenkins: The Complete Recordings | Acrobat ACMCD4388

Florence Foster Jenkins: The Complete Recordings


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 weeks

Label: Acrobat

Cat No: ACMCD4388

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 26th February 2016



Florence Foster Jenkins (soprano)


Florence Foster Jenkins (soprano)


Florence Foster Jenkins became a cult figure in New York as a performer whose singing was appalling but nevertheless gave regular recitals.

This collection comprises all the recordings she made, released privately from 1941-44, comprising popular arias and original art songs. They provide ample (and hilarious, if excruciating) evidence of her lack of ability to sing in tune or with any kind of rhythm or timing.

A biopic feature film starring Meryl Streep and Hugh Grant is being released during 2016, and it will spark a huge amount of interest in her and her ‘music’.

Track listing:
1. Aria: Queen of the Night (from 'The Magic Flute' – Mozart)
2. The Musical Snuff-Box (Liadov, English lyrics by Adele Epstein)
3. Like A Bird (Cosme McMoon, lyrics by Florence Foster Jenkins)
4. Bell Song (from ‘Lakmé’ – Delibes)
5. Serenata Mexicana (Cosme McMoon, lyrics by Florence Foster Jenkins)
6. Charmant Oiseau (from 'Pearl of Brazil' - Felicien David)
7. Biassy (based on the Prelude no.16 by JS Bach) (Pavlovic, JS Bach, words by Pushkin)
8. Adele's Laughing Song (from 'Die Fiedermaus' - Johann Strauss II)
9. Valse caressante (Florence Foster Jenkins, Louis Aberghini, Cosme McMoon)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here