Nelson Freire: Bach | Decca 4788449

Nelson Freire: Bach


Please note: This title is a special order/import title. Dispatch is likely to take slightly longer than usual.

Label: Decca

Cat No: 4788449

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 4th March 2016



Nelson Freire brings a lifetime’s experience to his first-ever album devoted to the music of JS Bach.

The album was recorded in his 70th birthday year and offers over 80 minutes of music.

The release provides a perfect overview of Bach on the piano: towering original works such as the Fourth Partita and Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue; one of Bach’s own keyboard transcriptions (the sublime slow movement of Marcello’s Oboe Concerto) plus a selection of transcriptions by Busoni, Siloti and Myra Hess.

“There is tremendous excitement when Freire performs, and it has everything to do with his artistry.”
- New York Classical Review

“Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring had all the deep, centered serenity of Myra Hess’s own performance as well as a resonance and coloristic range of his own.” - New York Arts

“The sheer beauty and elegance of Freire's playing, his crystalline tone and infinitely subtle range of touch and colour are combined with all the technique needed to cope with whatever challenges these pieces present him.”
- The Guardian

Track listing:

Partita no.4 in D major, BWV 828
1. Ouverture
2. Allemande
3. Courante
4. Aria
5. Sarabande
6. Menuet
7. Gigue

8. Toccata in C minor, BWV 911

English Suite no.3 in G minor, BWV 808
9. Prélude
10. Allemande
11. Courante
12. Sarabande – Les agréments de la meme Sarabande
13. Gavotte alternativement – Gavotte II ou la Musette
14. Gigue

Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue, BWV 903
15. Fantasia
16. Fuga

Concerto in D minor after Alessandro Marcello, BWV 974
17. II Adagio

Bach/Busoni: Organ Chorale Preludes
18. Ich ruf zu dir, herr Jesu Christ
19. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist
20. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland

21. Organ Prelude in G minor

22 Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring (Chorale from Cantata BWV 147)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here