Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake | Sony 88875187472

Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake

Label: Sony

Cat No: 88875187472

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Ballet

Release Date: 22nd January 2016



Gstaad Festival Orchestra


Kristjan Jarvi


Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich

Swan Lake, op.20


Gstaad Festival Orchestra


Kristjan Jarvi


Tchaikovsky’s ballet Swan Lake is one of the most popular of all ballets. Fashioned from Russian folk tales, the ballet tells the story of Odette, a princess turned into a swan by the curse of evil sorcerer, Odile, the Black Swan. This album presents Tchaikovsky’s immortal ballet music in a NEW version by conductor Kristjan Järvi. The chronological order of the pieces has been newly arranged to achieve a dramatic arc of tension. The arrangement also brings some new transitions and some new musical endings.

Kristjan Järvi has been the principal conductor of the MDR Radio Symphony Orchestra since the 2012 season and of the Gstaad Festival Orchestra since 2010. He is a unique musical personality pushing the classical music borders with new ideas, his charisma and extraordinary technical prowess, and has been hailed by The New York Times as "a kinetic force on the podium, like Leonard Bernstein reborn." Järvi combines his classical music origins and his love for traditional repertoire with a powerful passion for original concert programs, that catapults concert halls and audiences around the world into the 21st century. Järvi has more than 30 albums to his credit, which have received numerous awards, including the Swedish Grammy for Best Opera Performance, the German Record Critics Prize for Best Album, and a Grammy nomination.

Every year the Menuhin Festival Gstaad (Switzerland) thrills its audience with unique concerts and top-class musical programmes set amidst magnificent Swiss countryside. The Gstaad Festival Orchestra (GFO) grew out of the vision to spread the innovative, inspiring spirit of the Menuhin Festival abroad and to enable this celebrated annual music festival to resonate on an international platform. Since its foundation in 2010, the GFO put its self-imposed challenge into practice and has soared again and again to new musical heights. The Gstaad Festival Orchestra is made up of the best musicians from Switzerland's leading orchestras.

Track listing:
1. Introduction
2. Act I: Scène 1
3. Act I: Valse
4. Act I: Scène 2
5. Act I: Pas de trois
6. Act II: Pas de deux
7. Act II: Danse de coupes - Valse - Scene
8. Act II: Danses des cygnes
9. Act III: Allegro giusto - Danses
10. Act III: Scène
11. Act III: Pas de six
12. Act III: Pas de deux
13. Act III: Czardas - Danse Hongroise
14. Act III: Danse Russe
15. Act III: Danse Espagnole
16. Act III: Danse Napolitaine
17. Act III: Mazurka
18. Act IV: Danses des petits cygnes
19. Act IV: Scène finale

This product has now been deleted. Information is for reference only.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here