Gallipoli Symphony - Recorded Live in Istanbul | ABC Classics ABC0762924

Gallipoli Symphony - Recorded Live in Istanbul


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: ABC Classics

Cat No: ABC0762924

Format: DVD - PAL

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Orchestral

Release Date: 22nd January 2016



Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra


Jessica Cottis


Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra


Jessica Cottis


The story of the Gallipoli campaign is everlasting. It is a story of endeavour, courage, tragedy, great achievements and great sacrifices. It is a story of young nations and old coming together in conflict.

The Gallipoli Symphony is a major composition produced by internationally respected composers from Australia, New Zealand and Turkey. It represents the first time ever that composers from three nations that fought in the campaign have collaborated on a single commemorative work of this scale.

The Gallipoli Symphony is structured into parts, like chapters in a book, each themed around an element of the campaign - from the farewell to the New Zealander troops as they began their journey across the world, to the battle fields after the invasion and, finally, hope for a brighter future.

The Symphony received its world-premiere performance in the magnificent Hagia Irene in Istanbul on 4 August 2015, featuring renowned musicians from each of the three nations as well as the Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jessica Cottis. This DVD, filmed by the ABC, presents that remarkable performance, capturing a moment of huge cultural and historical significance.

The DVD also includes interviews with the composers in a documentary feature Gallipoli Symphony - A Creative Journey.

Music composed by:
Demir Demirkan / Ross Edwards / Gareth Farr / Ross Harris / Kamran Ince / Elena Kats-Chernin / Graeme Koehne / Chris Latham / Richard Nunns / Andrew Schultz / Peter Sculthorpe / Omar Faruk Tekbilek

Omar Faruk Tekbilek: Gelibolu
Gareth Farr and Richard Nunns: He poroporoaki (Farewell)
Graeme Koehne: The Voyage
Peter Sculthorpe: Thoughts of Home
Elena Kats-Chernin: The Landing
Kamran Ince: The Invasion
Ross Harris: God Pity Us Poor Soldiers
Andrew Schultz: The August Offensive
Ross Edwards: The Trenches Are Empty Now
Demir Demirkan: Hope of the Higher Heart
Graeme Koehne: Future
Chris Latham: One Hundred Seconds For One Hundred Years

Special Feature: The Gallipoli Symphony A Creative Journey (featuring interviews with the composers)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here