John Sheppard - Church Music Vol.2 | Priory PRCD1108

John Sheppard - Church Music Vol.2


Usually available for despatch within 1-2 weeks

Label: Priory

Cat No: PRCD1108

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 30th October 2015



John Sheppard was an outstanding composer of the mid Tudor period and was born around 1515, a near contemporary of Tallis and Tye. It is inevitable that attention has been given to his Latin music as it is superior with that of the Anglican rite. Nevertheless, his Anglican music is a significant part of his output and should not be ignored.

Unfortunately much of his English-texted music survives so incomplete that it cannot be recovered; nevertheless the present recording and the companion (Priory PRCD 1081) aim to make available as much of it as possible.

This CD was recorded in the pure and ethereal acoustic of Gloucester Cathedral by the accomplished Academia Musica Choir.

Track Listing:
1. The Man is Blest
The Second Service
2. Venite
3. Te Deum
4. Benedictus
5. Kyrie (Brimley)
6. Creed
7. Magnificat
8. Nunc Dimittis
Evening Service for Trebles
9. Magnificat
10. Nunc Dimittis
11. Submit Yourselves One to Another
12. I Give You a New Commandment
13. Rejoice in the Lord Always
14. O Sing Unto the Lord
15. Of All Strange News
Steven Verses
16. What Comfort at thy Death
17. Death Thus to Suffer
18. Steven First After Christ
19. A Virgin and Mother (Merbecke)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here