Masterworks and Miniatures (Score, CD + DVD) | Nimbus NMP1015

Masterworks and Miniatures (Score, CD + DVD)


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Nimbus

Cat No: NMP1015

Format: CD + DVD + Book

Number of Discs: 2

Release Date: 3rd July 2015



Compiled and edited by harpsichordist Richard Lester, this 90 page volume of music contains 17 complete works by Girolamo Diruta, Claudio Merulo, Andrea and Giovanni Gabreli, Gioseffo Guami and Antonio Mortaro.

In an extended preface, Richard examines the contemporary performance treatise and based on them suggests possibilities for correct period fingering, orna mentation and registration for these works.

The publication includes a 48 minute DVD Video ‘Venetian Reflections’, in which Richard demonstrates the practical considerations of period fingering and ornamentation and includes several complete performances on both harpsichord and organ.

The publication also includes the Nimbus CD recording (NI5931) of works featured in the publication, performed by Richard Lester at the organ and harpsichord.

Composers Featured in the Score:
- Girolamo Diruta (c 1554-c 1610)
- Claudio Merulo (1533-1604)
- Andrea Gabrieli (1532/33-1585)
- Gioseffo Guami (1542-1611)
- Antonio Mortaro (fl 1587-1610)
- Giovanni Gabrieli (c 1555-1612)

Composers Featured on the CD:
- Adrian Willaert (c 1490-1562)
- Jacques Buus (c 1500-1565)
- Annibale Padovano (1527-1575)
- Andrea Gabrieli (1532/33-1585)
- Claudio Merulo (1533-1604)
- Gioseffo Guami (1542-1611)
- Giovanni Gabrieli (c 1555-1612)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here