Bhopal: A Prayer for Rain (OST) | Moviescore Media MMS15001

Bhopal: A Prayer for Rain (OST)

Label: Moviescore Media

Cat No: MMS15001

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Soundtrack

Release Date: 15th June 2015



Chamber Orchestra of London


Benjamin Wallfisch


Wallfisch, Benjamin

Bhopal: A Prayer for Rain (film score)


Chamber Orchestra of London


Benjamin Wallfisch


Cowritten and directed by Ravi Kumar, Bhopal: A Prayer for Rain is a harrowing tale based on real events that happened exactly 30 years ago. The story follows young rickshaw driver Dilip who is lucky enough to get a menial job at the Union Carbide chemical plant of his hometown Bhopal. As Dilip gets ready for his sister’s wedding, an unforeseen tragedy unfolds. Dilip and his family fall victim to the worst industrial disaster in recorded history, as poisonous gas from the factory is released into the air following a storage tank explosion, claiming well over 15,000 lives and causing countless injuries. The story is told from the perspective of Dilip and his family, local journalist Motwani (Kal Penn), American journalist Eva (Mischa Barton) and Union Carbide executive Warren Anderson (Martin Sheen).

The original soundtrack album is being released by MovieScore Media, Sweden and features the Chamber Orchestra of London recorded at Air Studios, conducted by the composer. Influences of local music are represented through the Tabla and the Bulbul Tarang (Indian Banjo) and an Indian flute playing the childhood theme which communicates life and hope. On the other hand, the score also features terrifying electronic textures representing the toxic chemicals suffocating the city. The album closes with the composer’s own end credits song, 'A Prayer For Rain', performed by Mary Lea.

Benjamin Wallfisch’s work in film has earned him multiple awards and nominations, including two Ivor Novello Award Nominations for Best Original Film Score, a nomination in the 2009 Emmy Awards, three nominations as Discovery of The Year at the World Soundtrack Academy Awards and the 2013 Hollywood Music in Media Award for Best Original Score Special Feature.

He made his scoring debut at the age of 24 ('Dear Wendy'), a score which earned him a nomination for 'Best Original Score' at the 2006 Danish Film Academy Awards. Since then he has gone on to work on over 40 feature films.

His prior releases with MovieScore Media include 'Dear Wendy' (2006), 'The Escapist' (2009), 'Conquest 1453' (2012), 'Hammer of the Gods' (2013) and 'The Thirteenth Tale' (2013).

Track Listing:
1. Elegy for Bhopal
2. Introduction
3. Bhopal
4. Rickshaw
5. Prayer
6. A Drop on the Arm
7. Dusk
8. The Disaster
9. Are We Safe?
10. Good Boy
11. Temple
12. Burning Eyes
13. Cyanide
14. Aftermath
15. Epilogue
16. A Prayer for Rain

This product has now been deleted. Information is for reference only.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here