Taize: Music of Unity and Peace | Deutsche Grammophon 4793788

Taize: Music of Unity and Peace


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Cat No: 4793788

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 16th March 2015







Music – music written especially for Taizé - plays a central role in the life of the Taize community; songs are sung in many languages, so as to include people and traditions worldwide. This recording is an extraordinary collection of the most beautiful chants and songs of the Taizé community, performed by the Brothers themselves and – for the first time - a hand-picked choir of young visitors on their annual pilgrimage.

At the very heart of this beautiful music is simplicity, repetition and congregation. It is music to enjoy and share, but also to sing to, and meditate to. It transcends religion, and has hypnotic, relaxing and reflective qualities that can speak to a wide and non-religious audience.

This album marks the very first collaboration of this world-renowned Christian community with a major label, and is set for release ahead of the special double anniversary year in 2015: the centenary of Taizé’s founder, Brother Roger, and the 75th anniversary of the community itself.

Track Listing:
1. The Bells of Taizé
2. Veni, Sancte Spiritus
3. Introduction: Seigneur, ouvre mes lčvres
4. Bless the Lord
5. Laudate Dominum
6. Répons: Le Verbe s’est fait chair
7. Beati voi poveri
8. Jubilate, coeli
9. Psaume 63
10. Bleibet hier
11. In manus tuas, Pater
12. Surrexit Christus
13. Gospodi pomiluj C
14. Aber du weißt den Weg für mich
15. Cantique de Siméon
16. Jésus le Christ
17. De noche iremos
18. Ubi caritas et amor
19. Let all who are thirsty come

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here