Coliseum (OST) | Moviescore Media MMS14029

Coliseum (OST)


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Moviescore Media

Cat No: MMS14029

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Soundtrack

Release Date: 8th December 2014



Produced by Drakonia, Coliseum is a spectacular show which recreates the deadly games of Ancient Rome in a live movie experience. The production follows the adventures of Marcus Octavius Atellus, the legatus of Rome who has been sentenced to fight as a gladiator in the Coliseum to recover his freedom. He must also survive the machinations of his nemesis Dominicianus, the evil brother of the Titus who plans on becoming the emperor.

Featuring more than 100 actors, horses, exotic dancers, fire stunts and chariot races, the show features such set pieces as the Battle of Hispania, a 'David and Goliath' duel with Porphyrion the Giant, and a tender romantic subplot between Marcus and his one true love, Cleopatra.

Born in Castelló d'Empúries in 1980, Spanish composer Marc Timón Barceló had shown great talent and creativity at an early age. He first graduated in journalism before getting his degree in composition from the prestigious ESMUC. His most notable film credits include horror movies like 'Witches' (2010) and 'El arbol sin sombra' (2013) or the animated children’s movie 'The Little Wizard' (2013) which marked the composer’s CD soundtrack debut at MovieScore Media.

You can’t create 'Roman' music without Miklós Rózsa (BenHur) or Alex North (Cleopatra)”, explains the composer “so I studied their use of brass, how they orchestrated, how they recreated the sound of archaic days. Then I looked at our present with a focus on Hans Zimmer (Gladiator) – from him, I learned about orchestral textures, powerful ostinati and thunderous war percussion. I also tried to mix the two fundamentally different ways of understanding film music in one soundtrack. While we tend to look at John Williams and Hans Zimmer as opposites, I always thought it would be possible to do a score with both styles coexisting: on one hand we’d have melodies and leitmotifs, on the other we’d have big percussion, textural atmosphere and loops."

Track Listing:
1. Roman Fanfare
2. The Emperor’s Entourage
3. Marcus Octavius Atellus
4. The Tribes
5. Cleopatra’s Theme
6. Exotic Dances from Egypt
7. Sands from the Coliseum
8. Mehara the Horse
9. Fighting Never Ends
10. Porphyrion the Giant
11. Dominicianus and Titus
12. Hercules’ Sword
13. Destiny of the Gladiator
14. Domicianus Treason
15. The Last Combat
16. Cleopatra’s Theme (Strings Version)
17. Battle of Hispania
18. When Dreams Come True
19. Honor and Victory
20. Rudis

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here