The Great War: A Portrait in Music, Voices & Sound | Memory Lane GLMY94

The Great War: A Portrait in Music, Voices & Sound


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: Memory Lane

Cat No: GLMY94

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 3

Release Date: 25th August 2014


‘The Great War’ is a landmark 100th anniversary collection quite unlike any other - a unique blend of music, poetry, sound reportage and documentary evoking "the war to end all wars" as it was fought and lived by the British people - a powerful and moving tribute to the sacrifice of millions.

Captured here are the sounds of Britain at a pivotal moment in her history - the songs that the soldiers sang on the march and in the trenches, from 'It's a Long Way to Tipperary' to 'I Want To Go Home'... recruiting tunes, comic ditties and sweetheart songs from the music halls and theatres... and the reflections of all ranks as they faced apocalyptic shell fire and the horrors of the barbed wire.

Original landmark recordings from 1914-18 mingle with readings, reminiscences and sequences from the works of Elgar and Delius to create a panoramic portrait that's poignant, gripping and atmospheric in equal measure.

With special features including the whole of the 1961 radio documentary 'The Long, Long Trail' that inspired the stage show ‘Oh What a Lovely War’, ‘The Great War’ is a truly historic collection full of breathtaking moments.

CD 1 The Long, Long Trail (The BBC Singers, The BBC Revue Orchestra & Malcolm Lockyer)
• War Starts - "We Don't Want To Loose You"
• The Germans Advance - "His Luggage Labelled 'England"
• The Old Contemptibles Hold Fast - "Keep The Home Fires Burning"
• Soldiering - "Blame It On The Last Long Mile"
• Into Battle - "The Ragtime Infantry"
• The Scene Of Battle - "We're 'Ere"
• Going Over The Top - "The Bells Of Heaven"
• Carrying On - "Pack Up Your Troubles"
• Entertainment At The Front And At Home - "Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty"
• The Home Front - "Goodbye-ee"
• 1915 - 1917: Stalemate - "I Want To Go Home"
• Here Come The Yanks - "Over There"

CD 2
• If You Were The Only Girl In The World - George Robey
• For Me And My Gal - Bill Murray
• Hello, Hello, Who's Your Lady Friend - Ted Yorke
• Your King And Country Want You - Edna Thornton
• Jolly Good Luck To The Girl Who Loves A Soldier - Vesta Tilley
• Oh! How I Hate To Get Up In The Morning - Arthur Fields
• K-K-K-Katy - Bill Murray
• I May Be Gone For A Long, Long Time - The Peerless Quartet
• Dear Old Pal Of Mine - John McCormack
• The Angel Of Mons - Foster Richardson
• They Didn't Believe Me - George Grossmith
• Pretty Baby - Bill Murray
• I Didn't Raise My Boy To Be A Soldier - Morton Harvey
• I Wonder Whose Kissing Her Now - Henry Burr
• How Ya Gonna Keep 'Em Down On The Farm - Harry Fay
• Boys In Khaki, Boys In Blue - Frederick Wheeler
• The Army Of Today's All Right - Vesta Tilley
• The Lads In Navy Blue (It's The Navy, The British Navy) - Harrison Latimer
• Women Of Britain - George Baker
• Sister Susie's Sewing Shirts For Soldiers - Bill Murray
• Till The Clouds Roll By - Anna Wheaton
• Never Mind The Food Controller - Florrie Forde
• What Did You Do In The Great War, Daddy? - Tom Clare
• Till We Meet Again - Charles Hart

CD 3
• March From ' Things To Come' - The London Symphony Orchestra & Sir Arthur Bliss
• Recruiting Speech At The Mansion House - Sir Charles Wakefield
• Forefathers (Edmund Blunden) - Carelton Hobbs
• At The Front: On The March (Reminisence) - Sgt Edward Dwyer, VC
• Attack (Siegfried Sassoon) - Steve Watts
• WWI Recollection - Sargent Percy Reid
• Greater Love (Wilfred Owen) - Robert Donat
• The Lark Ascending - Jean Pougnet, The London Philharmonic Orchestra & Sir Adrian Boult
• In Flanders Fields (John McCrae) - John Kehoe
• A Shropshire Lad - The London Philharmonic Orchestra & Sir Adrian Boult
• Arms And The Boy (Wilfred Owen) - Carelton Hobbs
• WWI Recollection - Major Marmaduke Leslie Walkinton
• The Estaminet (Descriptive Sketch) - Some Of The Boys'
• Elegy - The London Philharmonic Orchestra & Eduard Van Beinum
• For The Fallen (Laurence Binyon) - John Kehoe
• The Attack (Descriptive Sketch) - 'Some Of The Boys'
• Appeal For One Million Pounds - Harry Lauder
• Why Is Britain At War? - Henry Ainley
• Nimrod From 'Enigma Variations' - The Halle Orchestra & Sir John Barbirolli
• WWI Recollection - James Davidson Pratt, NCO
• Experiences Of Sinking The SS Arabic (Reminisence) - Kenneth Douglas
• Serenade - Sinfonia Of London Conducted & Sir John Barbirolli
• Futility (Siegfried Sassoon) - Steve Watts
• Christmas In Camp (Descriptive Sketch) - Uncredited
• Jupiter (I Vow To Thee My Country) From 'The Planets' Suite - The London Philharmonic Orchestra & Sir Adrian Boult
• Recessional (Rudyard Kipling) - John Kehoe
• WWI Recollection - Private Charles Francis Colthup
• Fantasia On A Theme By Thomas Tallis - Sinfonia Of London & Sir John Barbirolli
• The Soldier (Rupert Brooke) - John Kehoe
• WWI Recollection - George Ashurst, NCO
• The Rear Guard (Siegfried Sassoon) - Steve Watts
• Adagio - Moderato (First Movement) From 'Concerto For Cello And Orchestra' - Andre Navarra, Cello, The Halle Orchestra & Sir John Barbirolli
• Everyone Sang (Siegfried Sassoon) - Steve Watts
• The Last Post - Uncredited

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here