Evensong from the Chapel of King’s College Cambridge | Heritage HTGCD267

Evensong from the Chapel of King’s College Cambridge


Label: Heritage

Cat No: HTGCD267

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 7th April 2014



Evensong at King’s College Chapel, Cambridge is almost as famous as the service of Nine Lessons and Carols on Christmas Eve.

This Evensong recording is typical of the service held in the chapel each day and includes music by Adrian Batten, William Smith, Charles Villiers Stanford, Patrick Hadley and Francis Jackson, in addition to wonderful performances of Bach’s Sacred Part Songs.

Track Listing:
1. Introit – Adrian Batten: O Praise the Lord
2. Sentences - I will arise; Almighty and most merciful Father; Almighty God, the father of our Lord Jesus Christ leading into The Lord’s Prayer (Read by the Chaplain of King’s College Chapel, the Rev Martyn Hughes) 
3. Responses – William Smith
4. Psalms – When the Lord turned again the captivity of Sion (No.126); Except the Lord built the house (No.127); Blessed is everyone that feareth the Lord (No.128); Many a time have they fought against me (No.129)
5. First Lesson – Isaiah LXI (Read by Christopher Keyte)
6. Magnificat in G – Charles Villiers Stanford (solo treble: Richard White)
7. Second Lesson – St Luke IV 16-32 (Read by The Rev Martyn Hughes)
8. Nunc Dimittis in G - Charles Villiers Stanford (solo baritone: John Walker)
9. Creed
10. Prayers
11. Collects
12. Anthem – Patrick Hadley: My beloved spake
13. Prayers for the Queen, The Royal Family and for the founder of the college, King Henry VI
14. Final responses – William Smith
15. Concluding Voluntary – Francis Jackson: Toccata in B Minor
The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge / Boris Ord
Hugh McLean (organ)
Recording first published in 1956.

J S Bach: Sacred Part-Songs
16. O Jesu so meek, O Jesu so kind
17. Jesus is this dark world’s light
18. Lord, pour not thy vengeance on me
19. Now is the mournful time
20. It is finished
21. Breath of God, life giving
22. God liveth still
The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge / David Willcocks
Simon Preston (organ)
Recording first published in 1960.

Total time:  65.44

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here