Deanna Durbin: Can’t Help Singing (Her 27 finest 1936-44) | Retrospective RTR4237

Deanna Durbin: Can’t Help Singing (Her 27 finest 1936-44)


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Retrospective

Cat No: RTR4237

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 6th January 2014



Deanna Durbin (soprano)


Deanna Durbin (soprano)


2013 saw the passing, at the age of 91, of one of the most successful teenage stars in screen history: Deanna Durbin (1921-2013). Prior to her early retirement in 1949, she delighted millions the world over with her natural, wholesome girl-next-door manner and sweet, lyrical light soprano voice. But her many recordings have had an enduring popularity and, 70 years on, still sell as well as they ever did.

With 'Canít Help Singing' (the title of both her 1944 film and the opening track) Retrospective pays generous tribute to one of the finest popular singers of the 20th century by gathering together no fewer than 27 of her most famous 78 recordings, unsurpassed as a single-CD collection.

They range from songs featured in her many films, such as Itís Raining Sunbeams (from 100 Men And A Girl), My Own (from That Certain Age), and Waltzing In The Clouds (from Spring Parade), to sentimental ballads (e.g. Beneath The Lights Of Home and Loveís Old Sweet Song) and favourite operatic arias: One Fine Day and Musettaís Waltz Song.

Track Listing:
1. Canít Help Singing
2. Il Bacio
3. Itís Raining Sunbeams
4. Les Filles De Cadix
5. My Own
6. Ave Maria (Bach-Gounod)
7. Because
8. The Last Rose of Summer
9. Home, Sweet Home
10. One Fine Day
11. Spring in My Heart
12. Amapola
13. Musettaí Waltz Song
14. Love Is All
15. Waltzing in the Clouds
16. Itís Foolish but Itís Fun
17. When April Sings
18. Beneath the Lights of Home
19. Perhaps
20. Annie Laurie
21. Kiss Me Again
22. My Hero
23. Poor Butterfly
24. Estrellita
25. Loveís Old Sweet Song
26. Always
27. Spring Will Be a Little Late This Year

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here