Krossover: Opera Revisited | Challenge Classics CC72628

Krossover: Opera Revisited


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Challenge Classics

Cat No: CC72628

Format: SACD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 2nd December 2013



The album ‘Krossover - opera revisited’ features music written by the composers of today’s popular music performed by award-winning mezzo-soprano Tania Kross. The music was produced together with Reyn Ouwehand, arranged by Bob Zimmerman, and has been recorded with the Netherlands Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jurjen Hempel.

For this album, Tania Kross’ goal was to take classical music back to a larger audience. The compositions are not what you expect from an opera album. Instead of taking existing, famous opera works, Tania asked the composers of today’s popular music to write the music for the project.

After studying at Utrecht Conservatory, mezzo-soprano Tania Kross won several competitions, including first prize at the Foundation for Young Music Talent in the Netherlands, the Rosa Ponselle International Competition for Vocal Arts in New York, and the Cristina Deutekom Competition. She became a member of the Opera Studio in Amsterdam and was given the honour of being chosen as a Concertgebouw 'Rising Star'. Kross has given a recital in the Small Hall of the Concertgebouw and appeared at major concert halls in Paris, Salzburg, Vienna, Athens, Birmingham, Cologne and New York (the Carnegie Hall).

Track Listing:
1. Mea culpa (Reyn Ouwehand/Marinus de Goederen)
2. O mar (Martin Fondse/Hael de Toledo Matuoka)
3. Golden leaves (Reyn Ouwehand/Odilo Girod)
4. Undyed (Ruben Hein/Stan Diego)
5. Rebiba (Lucky Fonz III)
6. Nichts macht mehr Sinn (Martijn Konijnenburg/Henri Meijer)
7. To the end of the world (Odilo Girod)
8. Not a some time thing (Robert Jan Stips)
9. Go slow (Martijn van Agt)
10. Voor geen goud (Huub van der Lubbe)
11. Vivo (Martijn Konijnenburg/Luca Bussoletti)
12. Nocturne (Spinvis)
13. The wedding night (Ruben Hein)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here