BBC Legends: BBCL50062

BBC Legend: Janet Baker

| share

This product has now been deleted. Information is for reference only.

BBC Legend: Janet Baker

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 3

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 26th September 2011

Janet Baker, Graham Johnson (piano), Martin Isepp (piano), Geoffrey Parsons (piano), London Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductors: Evgeny Svetlanov, Carlo Maria Giulini, Norman Del Mar
CD 1: BBCL40702
Schubert: Lieder
Award Winner: Choc 'Monde de la Musique'
- Die junge Nonne, D828
- Das Rosenband, D280
- Auf dem See, D543
- Blumenlied, D431
- Gondelfahrer, D808
- Strophe aus Die Götter Greiechenlands D677
Graham Johnson (piano)
Snape Maltings, 2 October 1977

- Der Jüngling und der Tod, D545
- Schwestergruß, D762
Martin Isepp (piano)
St John's, Smith Square, London, 20 April 1970

- Amalia D195
- Der Jüngling am Bache D30
- Entzückung an Laura, D390
- Sehnsucht, D636
- Der Sieg, D805
- Abendstern, D806
- Atys, D585
- Augenlied, D297
- Memmon, D541
- Auflösung, D807
- Der Musensohn, D764
Geoffrey Parsons (piano)
Usher Hall, Edinburgh, 1 September 1980

CD 2: BBCL40772
- Chausson: Poeme de l'amour et de la Mer, Op.19
London Symphony Orchestra / Evgeny Svetlanov
Royal Festival Hall, London, 17 April 1975

- Berlioz: Les nuits d'ete, Op.7
London Philharmonic Orchestra / Carlo Maria Giulini
Royal Festival Hall, London, 14 May 1975

- Schoenberg: Song of the Wood Dove from Gurrelieder
London Symphony Orchestra / Norman del Mar
Royal Festival Hall, London, 7 November 1963

CD 3: BBCL41172
- Gluck: O del mio dolce ardor
- Lully: Bois epais
- Marcello: Il mio be foco - Quella fiamma che m'accende
- Berkeley: Five Poems of W.H Auden
- Finzi: Let Us Garlands Bring, Op.18
- Vaughan Williams: Let Beauty Awake  / Tired /  Silent Noon /  Linden Lea
- Britten: Folk Song Arrangements: The Salley Garden / O can ye sew cushions? / O Waly, Waly / Come ye not from Newcastle?
Geoffrey Parsons (piano)
Town Hall, Cheltenham, 4 July 1983

- Purcell: Sleep, Adam, sleep and take thy rest
- Purcell: Lord, what is man
- Warlock: Sleep / Pretty Ring Time / Rest, sweet nymphs / The Jolly Shepherd
Geoffrey Parsons (piano)
Concert Hall, Snape Maltings, 10 June 1968

"Treasures indeed, including a glorious account of Finzi’s Shakespeare cycle" - Gramophone
"There can be no more golden a legend than Janet Baker singing English song..." - BBC Music Magazine

Booklet notes: English, German and French
Total time: 3h 46mins (227 mins)
Composers on this disc include....

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here